Re: But Shirley!
"True, but the umpire has to see it and be sure that it was a wrong call. "
I've watched the TV replay a few times now and the umpire, sitting high up in his chair *IS* watching the flight of the ball, after it leaves the racket of Ms Kartal and heads across the net.
So, there is no excuse for why he did not intervene and rule that the ball was out (as there was no line call from the robot that we now know was inoperative) so why he didn't have the confidence to award the point to Ms Pavlyuchenkova is clearly something that the AELTC needs to question and find out.
According to the press reports, the umpire concerned, Nico Helwerth, is having a "rest day" today, which is most convenient.
And the AELTC have confirmed changes have been put in place so the robot cannot be turned off. I wonder how much testing this specific system underwent before being commissioned (though the same system is used elsewhere with no major issues (it is said !).