Reply to post: Your test isn't working!

Nothing's working, and I've checked everything, so it must be YOUR fault

Electronics'R'Us
Devil

Your test isn't working!

I may have posted this before but it seemed appropriate.

Many years ago (early 90s) I was a test engineer for a company that made 'smart' payphones; smart in the sense that they were actually small microcontrollers with support electronics that operated as a payphone*.

I had designed some of the actual electronics on the newer variant, designed the test interfaces / measurement circuitry** and wrote the various tests*** for production units.

The actual build of the PCB assemblies was contracted out (not at all uncommon even then for a company that made perhaps 1000 units per month at the time).

One fine day, the operations manager (who was a total <redacted>) came to my desk and very loudly proclaimed that my test was not working as all the latest build was failing a particular test in the sequence although he had not noted which step it was.

I grabbed a known good unit (in its anti-static bag, natch) and set off for the 100+ mile drive to the build house.

When I got there and observed the test, the unit was failing a check for the escrow relay firing circuit. The escrow relay is a hunk of metal that takes (or refunds as appropriate), the money in the hopper. My test instructed the microcontroller to charge up the circuit, which was then measured (it should be 120V) and this step was failing.

I put my known good unit on the tester and it passed without issues, so I knew the test was fine****. I duly grabbed a few failing cards and returned to the office.