Reply to post: Re: Far to late

UK's competition regulator fires red flare over Nvidia's $40bn Arm takeover deal

Justthefacts Silver badge

Re: Far to late

Here’s a list of the JTAG debuggers I can buy for next-day delivery. Point to the one that supports RISCV please.

https://uk.farnell.com/c/development-boards-evaluation-tools/debuggers-emulators-jtag-tools-accessories/debuggers-emulators-jtag-tools

I’m sure One Exists, but here’s a scenario - I’m a contractor, and my washing machine development out in Bangalore is stalled on the production line, some software problem. No prob, I’ll just ring them up and get them to stick a JTAG debugger on it. Oh, *they haven’t got one?!* WTAF. And it takes six weeks to get the Special One through Indian customs?! Yes, I know somebody should have thought of that, but they didn’t, did they. It’s the exact equivalent of why you never, ever, specify an unusual screw that needs the special screwdriver. [hint: not an invented scenario].

Gcc/LLVM. “can be leveraged”.

By *whom* on *which budget*?!

E.g. who is supporting FORTRAN on RISCV, or COBOL, or HiPE for Erlang?

Of course, it could be done. But it isn’t. There are literally hundreds of things like this that just don’t work out of the box. Many of them may be minority sports. But no *company* is going to buy a computer where you have to ask whether $SpecialThing is supported. We’ve had x86 working across the ecosystem for so long, we don’t realise just how much work it took.

ARM have spent the last decade catching up to that level of support, siphoning a river of cash from a profitable business to do so. What pot of money is RISCV using to re-do that?

You’ve completely misunderstood “Intel use LLVM now”. No. They don’t. They have contributed millions of developer-hours of effort to LLVM, such that LLVM now produces great results on Intel architecture. There are no optimisation fairies.