Reply to post: The Answer You're Looking For

Intel's 8th-gen CPUs are called Ice Lake. And so are the 9th-gen

Roj Blake

The Answer You're Looking For

Haswell and Broadwell are generations within the Haswell architecture.

Skylake, Kaby Lake, Coffee Lake and Cannonlake are generations within the Skylake architecture.

Icelake and Tiger Lake are generations within the Icelake architecture.

So yes, both the 8th and 9th Gen can be Icelake, but one will also be Tiger Lake.

Lake is one of those words that looks weird when you see it repeated lots.

You're welcome.

POST COMMENT House rules

Not a member of The Register? Create a new account here.

  • Enter your comment

  • Add an icon

Anonymous cowards cannot choose their icon

Biting the hand that feeds IT © 1998–2022