Reply to post: Can someone explain to me how it works in the UK?

HMRC's IR35 tweaks have 90% of UK's IT contractors up in arms

Anonymous Coward
Anonymous Coward

Can someone explain to me how it works in the UK?

In the US, I was a contractor until two years ago. I always found my own contracts through my network of contacts, took only long term gigs, never once relied on an agency. I negotiated the rate they were willing pay for me, and they told me what intermediaries they dealt with. They wouldn't deal directly with a single person corp like mine. I'd tell the intermediary "I've negotiated $125/hr from X, I want you to pay me $115/hr corp to corp". $10/hr for basically passing paperwork through is more than they deserve, but I ended up giving them between $7 and $20 per hour to do this depending on the leverage they had. Better deals when there are multiple intermediaries to choose from, worse deals when there was an exclusive arrangement.

So big corp X I was contracting for paid the intermediary corp who paid my corp which then paid me. I paid myself a salary of $60K a year. I was audited once by the IRS, they asked how I calculated that but the way the laws are here you just have to pay yourself a "reasonable" salary. It doesn't have to be as much as you could possibly get, just a salary that someone doing work similar to yours could conceivably make in a full time job. So paying myself minimum wage is out, but I didn't need to pay myself everything I made, either. The hourly rate I was getting from contracting was approximately 50-100% higher than what I could have got for full time employment doing the same. I know this because I was offered to become permanent more than once. Adding in the long breaks between gigs (mostly by choice) I calculated once that I made about $150K a year on average during the time I contracted.