Reply to post: Quick answer

Crowd-sourcing interpretation of IBM RAID 5 extension paper


Quick answer

RAID 5 can handle one disk failure. If there is a sector failure also you can not recover the associated data.

RAID 6 can handle two disk failures, or one disk plus one sector but not two disks and one sectors, or even one disk and two sectors.

The proposition is for encoding of sectors to enable recovery of disk failure and a simultaneous disk failure. By adding additional parity to the disk contents you can recover from a disk and sector failure in RAID 5 which you could not do normally.

POST COMMENT House rules

Not a member of The Register? Create a new account here.

  • Enter your comment

  • Add an icon

Anonymous cowards cannot choose their icon