back to article Olympus PEN E-PL1 Micro Four-Thirds camera

Adding another variation to its popular PEN range of Micro Four-Thirds cameras, the Olympus E-PL1 has done away with the retro style of its siblings, added a pop-up flash and a dedicated movie record button. It has re-designed the menu layout for even simpler navigation, introduced a Live Guide mode for complete novices and …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Weird_George
    Stop

Bad layout

Having 6 pages of photos in between the 1st and last section of the article is dumb.

Having the specs of the camera on page <random> instead of page 1 or 2 is dumb.

Having a 9 page article with no section descriptions to help me jump to the section I want ... is dumb.

Nice camera. :-)

1. Gene Cash Silver badge
      FAIL

Print version

Camera reviews are ALWAYS too big to fit in that constrained width layout. (Well they ALL are, but photo-heavy camera reviews are the worst.)

The first thing I do is hit the "Print" link.

2. jonathanb Silver badge

I don't agree

I spend a lot more time looking at the photos than I do looking at the written article. Obviously if there are serious useability problems or whatever, I want to know, but by far the most important thing about a camera is the pictures it produces, and the photos say that a lot better than any journalist possibly could. I particularly look at the ISO tests and the night time shots as that is what sets apart the good cameras from the bad.

3. sT0rNG b4R3 duRiD
      FAIL

gripe gripe gripe

Wholeheartedly agree with George. It's a matter of preference of course, but perhaps you should look at how Tom's hardware do their articles. I find it easy to navigate their stuff.

2. David Gosnell

CORRECTION: "Optical viewfinder"

You caption this as an optical viewfinder, but without a front element (and no mirror in the camera) it must be an electronic viewfinder. (Particularly thinking of photo on page 8)

3. Raz

Again, title required