back to article Terror in the Outback: Attack of the Giant Space Balloon

A "giant space balloon" went out of control in Australia yesterday in a "gut-wrenching" incident which saw a car wrecked and bystanders within inches of death, according to eyewitness accounts. The giant gasbag was intended to ascend 20 miles to the edge of space, there to measure cosmic gamma-ray emissions and probe the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Marvin the Martian
    Terminator

Mislabelment

How can this article not be labelled RotM? It's a friggin' hi-tech satellite attacking bystanders!

1. Secretgeek
      Joke

Not RotM

MtdR

Machine that didn't Rise.

2. Studley
    Boffin

Strewth!

"What's that, skip? There's an old man trapped beneath a car which was rolled over by a rampaging space vessel?"

Surely the clues were there before the launch. I'm no rocket scientist, but the balloon's rope looks pretty slack and it's gusting at about 45 degrees. That's not going to head upwards when you let it go.

3. andy gibson

Official Statement

Not a weather balloon but an alien spacecraft. A reverse Roswell!

4. M7S

Insurance for space vehicles?

I'd be willing to bet hitting a car isn't in the policy document.

1. Ivan Headache

I'd like to see

The claim the car owner puts in.

5. Peter Clarke 1
    Big Brother

Rover

Related to the Rovers from The Village, home of The Prisoner??

6. petur
    Boffin

only idiots...

...will sit in a car downwind of a balloon being released. Anyone can see where the balloon would be going upon release

7. Nick 6
    Grenade

No point in trying to leave the village.

Rover got him

Be seeing you.

8. Neil 13

I've seen these things before..

... in 'The Prisoner'. They can be very aggressive and nasty.

9. Intractable Potsherd
    Stop

Did anyone else ...