back to article Patch Management: Should it even exist?

From the outside in, it’s easy to question the need for software patching. “Surely,” some might ask, “If software was written properly we wouldn’t need the IT department to spend time patching it?” The even more cynical might suggest that the whole thing is a money-making ruse – without the need for patching, we wouldn't have …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Rob 101

Dead link!

Either Shavlik have not been supporting the fully free one for some time or have been scared into removing it for fear of traffic overload due to the article. In any event it is no longer there and there seems no route to it from the main website.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

No it shouldn't

I realise this is probably massively unfair of me to say as I'm not a developer, but: software is crap. Really. I think it's a product of capitalism, products are rushed out to compete in the market

A good example is the current trend towards virtualised desktops and applications. We're moving towards this environment at my workplace, and it sometimes boggles my mind. I dont' mean that there's anything wrong with the technology. Virtualisation has always impressed me. I can run three OSes at the same time on my desktop PC? Cool! It is the concept though that makes me wonder. I'm running a complete OS and tricking it into thinking it's running on a real PC? Or perhaps I'm running an App and tricking it into thinking it's running on a different sort of system. Either way the only explanation I can come up with is that something somewhere has gone horribly wrong.