back to article NASA takes stick over feet and inches

NASA's insistence on sticking to pounds, feet and inches in its Constellation programme "could derail efforts to develop a globalised civilian space industry", New Scientist reports. Leading the fight to bring NASA into the metric fold is Mike Gold of the US civilian space outfit Bigelow Aerospace. His company is "dedicated to …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. breakfast Silver badge
    Boffin

Come on people, it's not rocket science...

Now obviously, I'm not a rocket scientist by any means, but even I know that our local hardware store sells various little adjusty things that let you interface between metric and imperial pipes. Often they only cost a couple of quid- I'm sure even cash-strapped NASA could afford a few of those...

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Money Problems

Hautaluoma said: "We found the cost of converting to SI would exceed what we can afford."

How the F*** are they going to get to Mars then?

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Whats a title?

Not surprising that the good old money dump can´t do simple math. Just look at there launch succes rate compared to succesfull space agencies. NASA = FAIL

4. Bassey

That's strange

I had always believed NASA used imperial. However, I watched the James May thing on BBC on Sunday and all the old Apollo astronauts spoke about Kilometers and meters, so I just assumed I was wrong and that NASA had been using metric all along.

Then again, they also mentioned pounds of thrust and the old 25,000 mph so it's probably no wonder they are all confused. The sooner the US and UK drop their pathetic romantic notions towards imperial measurements the better. When was the weights and measures act? 1969?

5. Sergie Kaponitovicz

NASA knows best