back to article Used EV car batteries find new life storing solar power in California

As researchers continue to debate the merits of turning old electric vehicle batteries into energy storage for renewables like solar and wind, a California startup says it has already built out a facility to do just that. B2U Storage Solutions has reportedly deployed more than 1,300 used EV batteries at a solar facility in …

1. captain veg Silver badge

bit of a contradiction

"According to their research, using EV batteries as home energy storage could reduce the costs of home solar systems by as much as 50 percent and, more crucially, keep all that valuable lithium and nickel (and toxic battery byproducts) out of landfills."

If the lithium and nickel are valuable (which they are), why would they be in landfill?

Relatedly, is this a better use of those metals than recycling into new vehicle batteries? Alas I studied CS rather than electro-chemistry, but I've always assumed that reduced Li-ion battery capacity is associated with degraded efficiency because of increased resistance at one or both of the anode and cathode.

-A.

1. Jim Mitchell

Re: bit of a contradiction

I don't see how this keeps the batteries out of landfills. It just delays them either being trashed or recycled, but it eventually will happen.

Metal recycing is not a one-off event. It's turtles all the way down.

-A.

2. elsergiovolador Silver badge

If the lithium and nickel are valuable (which they are), why would they be in landfill?

Maybe it's only valuable if you have slave labour at your disposal to mine it.

Nobody is going to sift through landfills in the West for $1 a month.

If it's valuable, why would it be in landfill?

-A.

1. elsergiovolador Silver badge

Cheap storage.

2. Graham Dawson Silver badge

Generally speaking, valuable things end up in landfill because the cost of recycling is greater than the value of the extracted materials.

1. Anonymous Coward
            Anonymous Coward