back to article Disruptive innovation's like a party. It's always happening elsewhere

There may be little to agree on in these fractured, fractious times, but nobody can deny the fact of progress. We see it in tech up close and personal: news keeps coming thick and fast from medicine, material science, energy, cosmology, palaeontology, environmental sciences, you name it. The speed of change is just breathtaking …

1. PghMike

Innovation is always dying

It always looks like innovation is dying, because you can’t see what was truly innovative until 40-50 years have passed. When I started programming in ‘72, no one thought computers would revolutionize anything — they were just giant adding machines. I wrote a program to compute e**x, and was very proud of it, but I couldn’t see how pervasive computing would change the world.

There were those brighter than I that did make those predictions, but those predictions didn’t show up for decades.

Today, it is obvious that we’re at the cusp of all sorts of biological and drug creation innovation, which I’d guess will be as big a deal as computation over the next 50 years. Learning how to harness and scale ML will likely also be important. But we can only glimpse the possibilities at present.

1. Version 1.0 Silver badge
      Boffin

Re: Innovation is always dying

"Innovation" is leading to people using Windows 11 these days and thinking that it's an improvement and much better than Windows XP ... an innovation that started with Windows Me (Argggggg, the icon is a joke). It's not "better" - it's different ... don't panic, I'm talking about an operating system not fooled into thinking that Fentanyl is an innovation much better than smoking a little ball of opium to sleep well ... although I just woke up and I am using Windows 11 this morning.

2. Arthur the cat Silver badge

"And the concept of FOSS is actively hostile to parents"

FOSS as a stroppy teenager.

[Typo also emailed to the on-duty editor.]