back to article Crowds not allowed to leave Shanghai Disneyland without a negative COVID test

It's a small world (after all) but it got a lot smaller for the heaving masses who were trapped inside Shanghai Disneyland as a result of China's zero-COVID policy. Though the animation titan's theme parks are commonly claimed to be The Happiest Place on Earth, Minnie of the visitors must have thought local government was …

1. VoiceOfTruth Silver badge

I would have thought it was impossible

-> zero-COVID policy

While I applaud the aim as something to aim for I would have thought it was an impossible target. This is not the first corona virus and it won't be the last. I am not a doctor

1. Evil Auditor Silver badge
      Coat

Re: I would have thought it was impossible

...I would have thought it was an impossible target.

As it turns out, and China keeps demonstrating, it is an impossible target. The problem (i.e. one of the problems) there is, the governing structure is unable to admit a mistake and must continue with whatever inept decision was taken in the first place. Anyhow, this is obviously only my totally unfounded opinion, and see icon.

1. Fr. Ted Crilly Silver badge
        Big Brother

' I tell you, Winston, that reality is not external. Reality exists in the human mind, and nowhere else. Not in the individual mind, which can make mistakes, and in any case soon perishes: only in the mind of the Party, which is collective and immortal. Whatever the Party holds to be the truth, is truth. It is impossible to see reality except by looking through the eyes of the Party. '

2. vtcodger Silver badge

I started off to say that China's zero-Covid policy worked very well in 2020 -- a world with no vaccines and no effective antivirals. But I have some doubts that it's still a good idea.