back to article Novell owns Unix copyrights after all

The SCO Group today took a major shot to the groin, when a judge confirmed that Novell still owns the Unix operating system copyrights. US District Judge Dale Kimball issued a decision that spent 100 pages working its way through the various claims and counterclaims presented by SCO and Novell over the years, concerning Unix …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Ole Juul

Last hurrah

I see SCOs stock went up 6 cents before closing today. Things will probably look different in the morning! I'm no investment expert, but I imagine that the best bet for investors is to sell stocks as souveniers on Ebay.

2. Jason Harvey

R.I.P.

SCO shot itself... and now is on it's death bed

3. Kevin Eastman

Maybe too early to party yet

This is in the US remember, there can still be years of appeals before this is all said and done, unless SCO goes bankrupt first.

4. Morely Dotes

Justice still lives!

Rot in Hell, SCO, you scummy whores of Microsoft.

5. Lexx Greatrex

I won't be mourning at the funeral

So that's one long standing travesty that worked out for the better. Now all we need to do is get M$ to follow Novell's lead and join the Open Invention Network... yeah ok, one miracle at a time...

6. davcefai

Title

Oh Dear! I still haven't paid them their extortion money for running Linux.

7. !!11oneeleven

Mmmmmmmh....

...chocolate

8. Tibb the Cat

Novell backed by Microsoft next?

Here's the worry. If I've understood the case correctly, Microsoft were helping to finance SCO's case by paying them licencing fees? Now in the last year or so, M$ have also been cosying up to Novell, with agreements over payments and interoperability. Now that Novell clearly own the copyrights to Unix, whats to stop M$ backing Novell in a joint extortion attack on the Linux community, especially given M$ recent patent claim statements?

9. Richard Hebert

Party

We been partying since round 4 30 pm here yesterday.