back to article Federal agencies buying Americans' internet data challenged by US senators

US government agencies have been buying, to some degree, details of Americans' internet activities from data brokers – and US Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR) wants an explanation. On Wednesday, Wyden wrote a letter [PDF] to the inspectors general for the Departments of Homeland Security, Defense, and Justice to request that the …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Which government, when?

"...time-honored balance of power between the people and the government "

(as usual, Canada doesn't count)

2. VoiceOfTruth Silver badge

Team Cymru and its 550 collection points

These are worldwide. The next question, surely, is who is giving them access to our data? Is it ISPs or is it backbone providers? And why are they doing it ? Money?

1. M.V. Lipvig Silver badge
      Pirate

Re: Team Cymru and its 550 collection points

https://www.team-cymru.com

I'm no expert on this, being as my expertise lies in Layer 1 troubleshooting and repair, but it looks to me like the ISPs are inviting them in under the guise of cyber attack defense, with the defense requiring access to the data to see if it's a threat or not. Neat bit, that. Rather than stealing data by attacking a network, you convince the network to let you have the data to stop attacks. It would be like the Vikings taking off their helmets and telling their victims that the Vikings can stop Viking attacks if the victims just give the Vikings their stuff.

1. Kane
        Big Brother

Re: Team Cymru and its 550 collection points

"but it looks to me like the ISPs are inviting them in under the guise of cyber attack defense, with the defense requiring access to the data to see if it's a threat or not."

Sounds like the old Phorm tactics from back in the day.

3. Jan K.

surveillance on a massive scale that would have been unimaginable a few decades ago

You must be way younger than me then...

1. Michael Wojcik Silver badge