back to article Parallels increases prices with Desktop version 18

Corel-owned Parallels has put out an update for its Windows-on-a-Mac Desktop product with a few neat new features and an eye-watering price. We last looked at the wares of the virtualization veteran last August when version 17 came out, and came to the conclusion that if one wanted to run Windows applications on Apple's new …

1. 43300 Silver badge

Have Parallels come to some agreement with Microsoft over downloads of W11 ARM? Looks like they must have as it appears that the OS can be downloaded from Microsoft within Parallels despite there being no generic downloadable ISO for it.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Looks like it

I just downloaded 18 (I have a subscription service so get it as an update) and indeed Windows 11 is there and you're able to download Home, Pro or Enterprise editions right from the interface.

Parallels are well known for having a good relationship with Apple and Microsoft so it's quite likely they've been able to do something with MS to enable a simpler install process. Or, perhaps that exclusivity agreement MS had with Qualcomm has expired (it was rumoured to do so at some point "soon").

2. karlkarl Silver badge

>> despite there being no generic downloadable ISO for it.

If you are on Linux / BSD, the following URL allows you to download a raw Windows 11 .iso (Win11_English_x64v1.iso):

https://www.microsoft.com/software-download/windows11

If you attempt that URL and it detects a Windows user agent, it dicks you around with weird online downloaders and other non-standard crap.

1. 43300 Silver badge

That's for the 64 bit version though, not the ARM one.

Using MacOS also allows the direct download for the x64 ISO, but not the ARM one.

1. karlkarl Silver badge

Ah, right; missed that.

It is available, but it is a bit of a faff.

If you are interested, have a flick through of this Windows on ARM (Raspberry Pi in this case) guide: