back to article Boffins release tool to decrypt Intel microcode. Have at it, x86 giant says

Infosec boffins have released a tool to decrypt and unpack the microcode for a class of low-power Intel CPUs, opening up a way to look at how the chipmaker has implemented various security fixes and features as well as things like virtualization. Published Monday on GitHub, the Intel Microcode Decryptor is a collection of …

1. A Non e-mouse Silver badge

Always wondered how modern CPUs really work. Just have to wait for the "Dummies guide to Intel Microcode" book to come out.

1. Jim Mitchell

Microcode isn't really part of the how the CPU operates. Its just code that the processor runs to do complex actions.

1. david 12 Silver badge

Well, when I was a student, microcode design was part of what 'microprocessor design' was. We started with TTL, and designed a microcoded processor.

Anyway, this is part of the history of RISC. Researchers developed advanced compilation techniques that allowed them to optimize RISC code, and thought that RISC processors would be the wave of the future. Then Intel implemented the advanced compilation techniques in microcode, and offered it as a CISC package.

1. Fifth Horseman

Quite. If you are as old as me, you probably started with a 74181 ALU and worked from there. Good enough for the the first generation of VAX... I think it is something still worth doing today, assuming you can find the parts.

Not so sure about your RISC vs CISC comparison, though. True, the Intel P6/Pentium Pro CISC architecture has roots in the i960 RISC, just as the AMD K5 architecture is derived from the Am29050, but the arguments are much older - dating back to an analysis of IBM 1401 code, I believe - and are probably more about philosophy and ideology than implementation techniques.

1. Fifth Horseman