back to article EndeavourOS Artemis: Arch Linux, but a bit friendlier

EndeavourOS is a rolling-release Linux distro based on Arch Linux. Although the project is relatively new, having started in 2019, it's the successor to an earlier Arch-based distro called Antergos, so it's not quite as immature as its youth might imply. It's a little more vanilla than Antergos was – for instance, it uses the …

1. HereIAmJH

Arch decendents

I was interested in looking at it until you said it was built on systemd. I have been using Artix, which is also based on Arch, for several years. I prefer KDE over Gnome, and the lightweight desktops are just a little too lightweight for me. Although I tend to use LxQT most of the time.

I prefer rolling release distributions. We can probably blame Microsoft, but I have never liked doing full version upgrades on a PC ever since getting burned by Win95. Rolling releases let me do it a little at a time, while with a full version upgrade I tend to want to format the drive and start fresh.

I'm using OpenRC to avoid the systemd cancer. And about my only complaint with Artix is the community is too small. So often you have to fall back to Arch documentation to find a solution to a problem. That can be problematic in areas where Artix diverges from Arch.

2. VoiceOfTruth Silver badge

Here goes my judging a book by its cover

-> EndeavourOS

Congratulations on using the correct spelling for endeavour.

-> It also bundles yay to easily fetch packages from the Arch User Repository, AUR. The yay command takes the same switches as pacman does,

If ever two apps deserved to be merged it is pacman and yay. It's like having /bin/ls and /bin/ls-etc which is a wrapper around /bin/ls to look in /etc. And the name... it's as unintuitive as it gets. Even "yarp" in Hot Fuzz was understandable and derivable to "narp".

-> When you run the installation program, it asks which of its two modes to use: offline or online.