back to article Capital One: Convicted techie got in via 'misconfigured' AWS buckets

A former Seattle tech worker has been convicted of wire fraud and computer intrusions in a US federal district court. The conviction follows the infamous 2019 hack of Capital One in which personal information of more than 100 million US and Canadian credit card applicants were swiped from the financial giant's misconfigured …

1. Pascal Monett Silver badge

"Quite an expensive misconfiguration"

Indeed.

And I fail to see how a "financial giant" doesn't have personnel sufficiently trained to set up a server.

Ten years ago I set up a website for the company I was an associate in. It took me all of an hour to find the data to understand and properly lock down the .htaccess file to ensure that the entire file structure of our server would not be accessible.

I'm not an engineer, just a University-level graduate. It's not rocket science.

1. Mike 137 Silver badge

Re: "Quite an expensive misconfiguration"

"It's not rocket science"

Nor is a pre-live pen test. But many of my clients have considered that to be an unnecessary expense.

1. Throatwarbler Mangrove Silver badge
        Thumb Up

And this is one of the strangest paradoxes of IT at financial companies. You would think it would be well-funded, especially with regard to security, but the problem with working for bean counters is that they are penurious to a fault.

2. EricB123 Bronze badge

Who in the world would downvote a post about a financial firm being cheap with security?

Perhaps cybercriminals read The Register too?

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

>It took me all of an hour to find the data to understand and properly lock down the .htaccess file to ensure that the entire file structure of our server would not be accessible.