back to article 512 disk drives later, Floppotron computer hardware orchestra hits v3.0

The Floppotron computer hardware orchestra has reached version 3.0. The question is, where do you even find 512 floppy disk drives? Its creator, Paweł Zadrożniak, tells all. The Floppotron is a marvellous bit of engineering. Its tones frequent many a YouTube video (this writer was rather taken by the rendition of "Take On Me" …

1. spoofles

Most excellent abuse of old, worn out tech though hardly original.

One could do all sorts of tunes using Commodore 1541 and 1571 disk drives.

There was even a virus that would do this.

Still, magnificent!

2. Victor Ludorum
    Pint

Love it.

I'm an electronics hobbyist and like to do those small projects for learning purposes or just for pure fun.

If that's a small project, what's a big one...?

Definitely deserves one of these -->

1. Korev Silver badge
      Coat

Re: Love it.

> If that's a small project, what's a big one...?

Should the small project be called Compact Disc in this case?

3. Adrian 4

tonal range

I feel it needs some 5 1/4" and 8" drives . 3 1/2" are a bit tinny.

Tape drives (the DC300 ones with the noisy track-change solenoid) would be good, too.

1. bill 27

Re: tonal range

Drat! I had a nice 3.5" HD that would have worked wonders in the percussion department, what with some of the broken off heads rattling around inside of it.

2. DougMac

Re: tonal range

Not sure he (or anybody) would be willing to pay $200 and up for working 5 1/4" and 8" floppy drives.

Anything less than usually is "untested parts only".

4. A Non e-mouse Silver badge
    Thumb Up

Completely pointless and absolutely wonderful at the same time.

1. Giles C Silver badge

The world would be a lot duller without out people like him.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

@A Non e-mouse - That's the exact definition

of fine arts.

3. Fred Flintstone Gold badge