back to article Star loses $500,000 NFT after crooks exploit Rarible market

Miscreants exploited a now-fixed design flaw in the Rarible NFT marketplace to steal a non-fungible token from Taiwanese singer and actor Jay Chou and sell it for about $500,000. That's according to folks at Check Point, who on Thursday said the vulnerability could have been abused by crooks to gain full control of victims' …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

I still say that someone who spends real money on a digital artifact that does nothing other than exist on a ledger isn't dealing from a full deck.

Virtual assets like music licenses, video licenses, and so on make sense; they have real-world counterparts behind their model.

But NFTs require a leap of insane logic where you claim a digital thing is unique. Sorry, but as a programmer, I find that absolutely laughable. Digital data is easily replicated and copied. You own nothing for your money but a crypto-key to identify your nothing. There is no real world concept in counterpart to an NFT; it is all in people's heads.

1. DJO Silver badge

It's a bit more subtle than that.

...NFT creators also can earn up to 50 percent in royalties when someone resells their NFT on the secondary market...

It's really just a disguised pyramid scheme.

1. Joe W Silver badge

Sounds lucrative. Do you, as "art", uhm... "creator" have any upfront costs? I'll just upload a corrupted shot of a vegetable or something. If you cannot understand the meaning of that art piece you are a cretin, dear Sir, and....

or something.

1. LybsterRoy Silver badge

Anyone remember the Reg article on take meteorite make cast, melt meteorite down and pour into cast, send back to space. ITS ART!!!!

2. MrBanana