back to article DARPA says US hypersonic missile is ready for real world

DARPA announced a second successful test of its hypersonic cruise missile, adding that the weapon, capable of speeds in excess of Mach 5, is ready for real-world use.  DARPA has been testing hypersonic weapons for several years. The program in question, called the Hypersonic Air-breathing Weapon Concept (HAWC), began in 2016 …

1. Blitheringeejit
    Mushroom

Sooo...

They've tested two completely different designs for one flight each, and consider that this comprises a battle-ready system...?

I'm no military expert, but this sounds just a trifle optimistic to me.

<icon because, obvs...>

1. Someone Else Silver badge

Re: Sooo...

They've tested two completely different designs for one flight each that they have admitted to, and consider that this comprises a battle-ready system...?

There, FTFY

And the answer to that question might well be 'Yes", if indeed they have many more flights logged than they are admitting to.

1. John Brown (no body) Silver badge
        Joke

Surely they already have these missiles anyway. What else would they use to arm Aurora?

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

@Blitheringeejit

Quote: "...a battle-ready system..."

The criteria for "a battle-ready system" are VERY, VERY low.

(1) F35

Link: https://www.defensenews.com/air/2021/01/20/the-defense-department-still-isnt-meeting-its-f-35-readiness-goals/

....and this is after years and years and billions and billions of dollars.... Will they ever work properly? Who knows?

(2) Type 45

Link: https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/royal-navy-ministry-of-defence-russia-pip-tobias-ellwood-b2009369.html

....the cooling system for the "advanced" gas turbine power plants fails and leaves a destroyer "dead in the water"

....and this is after years and years and billions and billions of pounds (sterling)

(3) Type 45 (part two)