back to article Another data-leaking Spectre bug found, smashes Intel, Arm defenses

Intel this month published an advisory to address a novel Spectre v2 vulnerability in its processors that can be exploited by malware to steal data from memory that should otherwise be off limits. Arm said a number of its processor cores are also affected by this security flaw, and like Intel, its hardware defenses can't block …

1. YetAnotherJoeBlow

Actually...

According to my friend (an EE for a large mfg.), Speculative execution was designed solely as a performance win.

so when a statement implying a discussion - "which engineers ended up prioritizing performance over security:"

that discussion never happened.

1. m4r35n357 Bronze badge

Re: Actually...

IMO . . . I am not an expert, but have been in engineering/testing since the dawn of home computing, and this is my take.

Speculative execution was created to support the (hugely naive) threading approach to multi-processing.

Mutable shared state has caused countless problems in hardware & software over the decades, and will continue to do so unless it is stopped ;) It is just _too hard to do safely_, for mere mortals!

If you want to use multi-cored hardware efficiently, use processes, not threads!

What do more highly-trained software engineers think?

1. Brewster's Angle Grinder Silver badge

The shared state is in the CPU itself. In this particular example, it's the transition between kernel and user space that's being exploited and having one thread per process wouldn't stop that.

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Speculative execution doesn't have anything inherently to do with threading or multi-processor design.

3. Steve Channell

speculative execution existed om mainframe when intel was still primarily a memory chip manufacture.