back to article US Senate to vote on stopping Big Tech extracting 'monopolist rent' from app developers

The US Senate Judiciary Committee on Thursday voted to pass the Open App Markets Act, despite intense lobbying from Apple and Google. The bill, S.2710 [PDF], limits the kinds of restrictions major app platforms can impose on competitors, developers, and customers, will now be considered by a full Senate vote. If approved, …

1. karlkarl Silver badge

If this bill forces them to allow us to distribute outside of app stores, can it also ban the requirement of Apple's provisioning profile (effectively DRM), similar to the Windows RT / Windows 8.0 developer license?

This would be good. As a developer, I might engage with these platforms more in that case.

1. ShadowSystems

Almost certainly.

If the app store owners can no longer force you to use *only* their store, you are then free to use other stores. Those other stores will invariably compete on price, features, services, requirements, etc to differentiate themselves to the original store.

This leaves you free to shop around for the best deal to your app, letting your "vote with my wallet" capability declare rather loudly to the original store that their monopolistic practices will no longer be tolerated.

*Hands you a pint*

Cheers & happy coding! =-)

2. VicMortimer Silver badge
    Flame

About F-ing time!

I like my iPhone. I HATE Apple's monopoly on software distribution and installation for it.

And without the ability to install software of the user's choice, the iPad will NEVER be a real computer, it's doomed to be a toy.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Aim high

I'd much rather see new OS competitors. So for example, I'd rather see Apple and Samsung hardware be required to "open" their hardware to allow multi-OS loading. That could finally open some new horizons in privacy which would really make a difference.