back to article Db2, where are you? Big Blue is oddly reluctant to discuss recent enhancements to its flagship database

It's the time of year when one might wonder what happened to that avuncular family figure whose existence was so reliably dull they passed into history almost forgotten - a little like Db2, IBM's flagship relational database that has faded from users' collective memory. Big Blue's system of choice for its mainframes and big …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Throwaway society mentality comes to IT

The world is changing. I was an Oracle DBA for almost 20 years but then I moved sideways to other areas as I knew that wouldn't keep my career going for another 25 years. I used my coding skills and generic understanding of admin and DB skills to learn more products across so many disperate services these days. I no longer learn anything to any great depth, sad but true, now I learn enough to support a project, set it up, document and move on.

The days of the specific skilled worker are drawing to a close, only the Jack-of-all-trades will survive now. With this change to more "low depth", generic IT skills and workers comes the need to keep changing products every few years as old legacy tech is mothballed or put out to pasture.

DB2, like SQL Server, Oracle and their ilk are being replaced or at the very least simply locked in legacy silos to die a slow death. Why pay all that money for the software and skilling up your staff when they will walk out or the product will be used to bare minimum over the 4-5 years of it's lifetime? Learn enough about MySQL/PostgreSQL cloud offerings to store data. Badly written SQL? Why bother tuning it, just crank up the number of CPUs on the config page for the instance, why bother tuning anything, it'll only be around for 4-5 years max then it'll be replaced by the next project. Just keep paying the cloud providers for more horsepower, more tech, more space.

1. spireite Silver badge
      Thumb Up