back to article Blue Origin employees complain of sexist culture that ignores safety concerns

A group of 21 current and former employees of Blue Origin, Amazon.com founder Jeff Bezos’s rocketry side hobby, have penned an open letter that describes the company as fostering a sexist culture, intolerant of internal dissent, and sanguine about safety. Blue Origin has said the lead author was fired, and that the letter’s …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Mostly male workforce

Probably helps explain the design of the rocket.

1. martinusher Silver badge

Re: Mostly male workforce

Its quite likely that BO initially staffed up from the existing aerospace industry which -- surprise! -- will be largely white and male. Its debatable whether this is the best staffing strategy but it might have been the most appealing option after SpaceX cherry picked the serious talent.

I have no experience working at aerospace companies ("But I know plenty of people....") but you can tell a lot about a company's hiring practices from their website. Blue Origin's website looks like any other aerospace company's (e.g. General Dynamic's). SpaceX doesn't see to bother recruiting through their website (they seem to use an active recruiting strategy). People signing on with them will be under no illusions what working there will be like -- work, more work and, as a reward for all that work, even more work. This is the culture, its not one of "I am such and such, I deserve to be a particular grade" that you find with more established companies but closer to that of a start up where everyone is directed at the one goal. Mis-hires are unlikely to last long in that environment and I'd guess (grapevine, again) that relatively inexperienced people who got all the right grades at school and uni are not necessarily going to be regarded, or rewarded, in a manner they have come to expect.

2. Filippo Silver badge