back to article Apache OpenOffice can be hijacked by malicious documents, fix still in beta

Apache OpenOffice (AOO) is currently vulnerable to a remote code execution vulnerability and while the app's source code has been patched, the fix has only been made available as beta software and awaits an official release. That means that most people running the open source office suite, which has been downloaded hundreds of …

1. Forget It
    Meh

and Libre Office?

is it also affected?

1. DrSunshine0104

Re: and Libre Office?

I am not an expert in C++ or familiar with LibreOffice code base but looks like a no to me. The code is about the same between OO and LO, but looks like the maintainers at LO patched out this issue at the beginning of 2020.

https://github.com/LibreOffice/core/commit/aef7feb3e695ecf6d411f0777196dcc4281e201a

https://github.com/LibreOffice/core/blob/47a8a65022e3fd7624c95d0341b4809aad11fddb/connectivity/source/drivers/dbase/DTable.cxx#L850

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

A year ago? Is that related to Lim finding it? Did Libre notify OO? Out of sheer brotherly love?

2. diodesign (Written by Reg staff) Silver badge

LibreOffice isn't affected.

C.

2. beekir

Remote Execution?

The opening paragraph says this allows for remote code execution, but it appears that the problem is limited to the local machine.

1. diodesign (Written by Reg staff) Silver badge

Re: Remote Execution?

It's RCE as in: someone sends you a bad document. You open it wherever you are. That person has achieved remote code execution on your computer.

C.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

LibreOffice

The fact that anyone still uses AOO suggests that LibreOffice needs to up its marketing game.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Unhappy

Re: LibreOffice

Their ongoing problem is their name. OpenOffice has traction among the great unwashed. Even among those of us who wash occasionally, it was probably the first FOSS office suite we installed.