back to article Oh dear, Universal Windows Platform: Microsoft says 'no plans to release WinUI 3 for UWP in a stable way'

Microsoft's Universal Windows Platform (UWP), once touted as the future of Windows development, will not be getting updated for WinUI 3 according to current plans, software giant said in a community call. The WinUI Community Call yesterday was conducted on Google's YouTube platform "because Teams wasn't always accessible/ …

1. Joe W Silver badge

And that's the reason we cannot have nice things!

At least one of the reasons why developers jumped ship from Windows Phone was (allegedly, I'm no app developer) the constant platform changes, with the needs to rewrite your apps for the new platform, that was supposed to be universal, and life was going to be so much simpler, and for the long term, and univeral and all fluffy bunnies and unicorns - until two years or so later the next platform change all of a sudden happened with similar promises attached. I can totally understand people not wanting to commit to that any more. So: fewer apps, nobody wants a phone that does not have you baking / public transport / whatever app, fewer people buy it, fewer devs bother because it's a small market segment, even fewer apps...

I miss my windows phone (and that's coming from a long time linux user).

1. Ozan

Re: And that's the reason we cannot have nice things!

I miss windows tablet actually.

2. This post has been deleted by its author

2. Lee D Silver badge

And this is why I don't program Windows desktop apps any more: