back to article 'Lots of failed startups came out of Campus': Google axes London hub because startup scene 'doesn't need' another 7 floors of workspace

The COVID-19 pandemic has claimed another casualty: Google Campus, the flash Shoreditch startup hub launched in 2012 to grow London's tech scene. Google said the pandemic had "demonstrated" it could somehow support the startup community without occupying a seven-storey building in the heart of Central London. The shift to …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Never overheard such hyperbole in my life

I spent an afternoon there, I'm a veteran of startup failure and semi-success. It was full of dreamers with no dev skills looking for some sap to do their bidding (as they are the 'ideas-person, fantasists unconcerned with economics, some who saw it more of a trendy 'scene' than of business, but it was a nice space if you could ignore the mass of cables everywhere into people's iFruit machines.

1. Yet Another Anonymous coward Silver badge

Re: Never overheard such hyperbole in my life

I couldn't understand our local equivalent - think Silicon Valley meets Tellytubbies

Then I heard a business podcast about how they're are basically the C21 equivalent of a nightclub.

Nobody is there to start a successful company, there are a few trust-fund/credit-card funded 'founders' dreaming. A lot of marketing/management-consultant sharks trying to hook up with them and a large number of attractive boys/girls/etc hoping to 'market' themselves to the next Zuckerberg.

1. elsergiovolador Silver badge

I'll start with a premise that power is a drug.

Wealthy people are bored and constantly chase that power high. This is where all these start ups come in.

People present these "life changing" ideas and bidding for their new god / guru who will pour the money and get the things moving.