back to article Poltergeist attack could leave autonomous vehicles blind to obstacles – or haunt them with new ones

Researchers at the Ubiquitous System Security Lab of Zhejiang University and the University of Michigan's Security and Privacy Research Group say they've found a way to blind autonomous vehicles to obstacles using simple audio signals. "Autonomous vehicles increasingly exploit computer-vision based object detection systems to …

1. Eclectic Man Silver badge

Automation

This is worrying for people who want to rely on self-driving cars. I wonder whether they can also affect the lane-tracking features. As an older driver, I do find the automation in new cars intrusive such as lane tracking, 'foot off the accelerator' when approaching a roundabout, telling me I'm travelling over the speed limit when the limit is 30 not 20 as the car would have it, or that the speed limit on one minor road in the UK was 110mph.

My main problem with all this automation is that when the computer cannot cope there is the expectation from the manufacturers that the 'driver' will be alert and able to decide instantaneously what to do, when clearly anyone who is using lane tacking or automatic driving is unlikely to have been paying attention.

1. John Robson Silver badge

Re: Automation

Only as worrying as the incompetence of most drivers.

As a disabled driver I very much appreciate lane tracking and adaptive cruise control, even if my car doesn't seem to grok that dual carriageway NSL is 70 rather than 60, or that speed limits persist around corners. At least use the manual speed limiter setting is nice and easy to use.

1. Pascal Monett Silver badge

The fact that you are disabled does not matter. Your car has been modified to adapt to your disability so that you can drive it.

You're still the diver, whatever semi-autonomous thingamajigs you have, and if you cause an accident, you will still be held responsible.