back to article Mounties messed up by using Clearview AI, says Canadian Privacy Commissioner

Canada’s Office of the Privacy Commissioner (OPC) announced yesterday that the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) broke the law by using Clearview AI facial-recognition software. An OPC investigation launched in July 2020 concluded in February this year that Clearview AI violated the country’s federal private sector privacy …

1. Pascal Monett Silver badge
    Thumb Down

"Clearview AI claims Canadian privacy law shouldn’t apply to US-based companies"

It does not apply to US-based companies. As far as Canada is concerned, Clearview AI is free to leech anything they want.

It applies to Canadian companies and organizations.

Idiots.

2. Mike 137 Silver badge

Some hope!

"These recommendations include the RCMP undertaking privacy assessments of third-party data collection practices to determine legality"

In my many years' experience as a data protection consultant, I've never found an organisation that examines the T&Cs of the third party services they subcontract to in terms of their effect on data subject rights.

Under EU and UK law at least, it's a statutory requirement. Nevertheless, if any "due" diligence is performed at all (and that's rare), it stops at the contractual terms between the principal and the third party. Unfortunately, because data protection law in these jurisdictions is not policed, everyone gets away with it, and unlike in the reported case, in the UK at least a single complainant is pretty unlikely to gain the attention of the regulator.

3. fidodogbreath

The RCMP then claimed it was only using Clearview AI to rescue children who were victims of online sexual exploitation

"Which is why we also need to outlaw encryption -- for everyone except ourselves, of course, because cops never break the laws we are sworn to enforce."

...the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) broke the law by using Clearview AI facial-recognition software...