back to article Bribery charges against Apple's global security boss dismissed in iPads-for-gun-permits case

The strange case against Apple global security boss Thomas Moyer, who was accused of trying to bribe his way to permits to carry concealed guns, has ended with the judge dismissing the charges. The case was brought in November 2020, when prosecutors detailed how Apple’s Moyer had applied for concealed carry permits. Such …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Wow....

... I just had to do a refresher course about this subject (I'm pretty sure I would have faced disciplinary action, which is _not_ a civil court case, I can indeed be punished twice), let's just pick this paragraph apart (though I am not a lawyer, live on a different continent etc...):

The Register understands Moyer produced paperwork showing that he had gone through Apple’s processes for arranging a donation,

Which does not make it better, as those involved in approving this are now (maybe) complicit in any unlawful action. Even if I make a case to the relevant group in my company that I want to donate whatever my company is providing to the police or the city or whomever, if this action can indeed be linked to me seeking a gun permit, a building permit, rerouting of a pedestrian path past my private beach (or whatever) it is bribery, quite plain.

and that Judge Geffon could find no evidence that the donation was an attempt to hasten the issuance of permits.

It is a transaction that was organised between a civil servant (the police officer in question) and a person seeking a certain outcome. Does not look good for the civil servant involved. Even if it is a donation to the police unit not to the person directly (this was actually stressed in our training). If it was me, I am quite confident I would face disciplinary action (rightly so), and I believe that this would count as at least attempted bribery over here, which is indeed punishable by law (also in the US).