back to article Help wanted, work from anywhere ... except if you're located in Colorado

DigitalOcean is looking to hire a front-end software engineer who, if working remotely, is free to live anywhere in America, Canada, Germany, or Netherlands, but not in Colorado. The US state in 2019 approved the Equal Pay for Equal Work Act and then formulated rules to apply the law [PDF], which went into effect on January 1 …

1. John Brown (no body) Silver badge

Ah, the good old days...

...when job adverts, by default, included the salary range offered.

When did it stop? I've not been on the job market for many years.

1. ilovecookiez

Re: Ah, the good old days...

When people started taking jobs without salaries in the adverts.

1. Falmari Silver badge

My first 3 jobs I got as a programmer I did not know the salary range. The first one I was told in the interview. The other two I was asked what sort of salary I was looking for; I suppose salary was negotiable.

Boy did I get the salary wrong in the third one. They offered more than I asked for and 18 months and a 4th pay rise later my salary had increased by 75%. Commercial sector pays a lot more than scientific research.

Nowadays I would want to know the salary range before applying, but when you are starting out at the bottom everything is up.

2. Imhotep

Probably when the job postings began targeting applicants in different countries/states with widely different costs of living and wage averages.

1. NATTtrash

That is a very valid point indeed.

"DigitalOcean is looking to hire a front-end software engineer who, if working remotely, is free to live anywhere in America, Canada, Germany, or Netherlands, but not in Colorado."

Having worked in a number of different countries myself, it is kind of naive to assume that salaries, and the corresponding taxes, social contributions, QoL are similar to where you are.