back to article Words to strike fear into admins' hearts: One in five workers consider themselves 'digital experts' these days

In what sounds like an introduction to an episode of Who, Me? Gartner has published the results of a survey showing nearly one in five workers "consider themselves to be digital technology experts". The news will delight IT administrators charged with supporting them over the last year or so and is attributed to the changes …

1. Lon24
    Pint

Time for a ====>

This is absolutely splendid news. Can we ensure we have a register of names, telephone numbers and email addresses of these experts? Hence when they call me - I can share my outstanding list of 'issues' and redirect incoming calls from the other 80%.

Ha, what could possibly go wrong with my plans for a much more relaxed support desk?

1. fran 2

Re: Time for a ====>

As a help desk manager I'd love if these 1 in 5 experts would stop screqing up their devices

1. Dazed and Confused

Yeah, but if it wasn't for those 1 in 5 you'd only need 20% of your staff, coz the "I'm an expert" brigade cause at least 80% of the problems.

1. The Oncoming Scorn Silver badge
          Holmes

I'd be happy, if these experts could work out how to change the default app for a file type, back to what it was supposed to be before they used their expertise on it!

1. martyn.hare
            Devil

IT Security & Compliance is here for you

We got you covered! As part of your Cyber ISO Essentials 9000, we will write up convoluted paperwork enabling you to deploy your very own Final Solution to rid the world of the rogue bands of digital shadow elites!

By the power vested in me, I say: Go nuts on Group Policy! That'll learn 'em!

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Buried the lede

The real news here is that it's so easy to be snarky about this and we all laugh along.