back to article Canonical and Microsoft get cosier with Active Directory integration in Ubuntu 21.04

Canonical's love-in with Microsoft has continued apace with the arrival of Ubuntu 21.04, replete with Active Directory integration. Optimisations for Microsoft's SQL Server are also inbound. As if to ram the point home, Canonical CEO Mark Shuttleworth said: "Native Active Directory integration and certified Microsoft SQL …

1. bazza Silver badge

PowerBroker?

Sounds like they're beginning to recreate some of the features of paid-for Pbis.

There is a market for this kind of thing, and it's interesting that it's beginning to take off in a major distro.

You can already do some quite cool things with sssd, like getting autofs maps from AD, distributing ssh public keys, user authentication of course.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

AD login

I've been using one on my Linux boxes for about 10 years or so. I also have my corp email on Exchange (Evolution EWS).

Samba's winbind does the job of keeping your fluffy Kerby tickets bum fresh. Lovely!

3. fredesmite2

AD has been around for decade at least

for free

1. Tom 7

Re: AD has been around for decade at least

But you dont get MS support not having a clue how to help you either. For many PHBs the ability to pass the buck is worth a lot.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

For many PHBs the ability to pass the buck is worth a lot.

And for management it's the actual prime motive to part with way more money than a product is worth.

2. bazza Silver badge

But what has not been done, to any great extent (for free), is to allow AD to store and manage *nix client settings. PBIS does quite a lot of that, but that part is not free.

Having Unix managed via AD, rather than through local settings, is an interesting thing!

4. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Embrace, Extend, Extinguish......

......once again with feeling.......

Oh and.....link: http://www.groklaw.net/pdf/Comes-3096.pdf

1. TonyJ