back to article But can it run Avid? The Reg hands shiny new M1 MacBook to video production pro, who beats it with Blender, Handbrake, and ... Hypercard?

I was three-quarters of the way through the third rewrite of this review before I remembered I was actually at Apple's WorldWide Developer Conference in 2005 when Steve Jobs got up and said: "Yep, we're going to Intel." I mention that memory because the last Apple chip transition was quite a long time ago now. Maybe you've …

1. Roger Kynaston
    Go

This is an interesting review

I did rush out and buy one of the shiny new toys for myself. I am a newbie to fruity computing though I did use Apple IIs at school.

I am also quite a different sort of user being a systems administrator by profession (profession!!????). I had bought a second hand intel one to see how i got on with it and then decided to buy the ARM. At work I use a linux workstation so having native support for the sort of tools I use like ssh and even an IDE for ansible coding and scripting were a real attraction.

So far I am happy with it. Zsh is good and homebrew is mostly OK though they keep tweaking python which I am sure drives python developers up the wall. Battery life is amazing. I am getting used to the different keyboard layout now though it would be better for everyone to adopt a standard as I always get ~ rather than \. Libreoffice seems to be compiled for native ARM and works fine. I haven't installed MS office but I have got Visual Studio Code which works perfectly for my purposes. I don't know how true developers would get on with that.

All in all, I am pleased with it and will likely stick with fruity computers though I hope it lasts a good long time.

1. Charlie Clark Silver badge

Re: This is an interesting review

MacPorts is less opinionated than Homebrew.

2. Dave559 Silver badge

Re: This is an interesting review

"they keep tweaking python"

I thought that was just pretty much "situation normal" for Python…? ;-)

2. jzl