back to article HPE urges judge to pick through Deloitte-bashing report it claims demolishes Autonomy founder's defence

Hewlett Packard Enterprise wants a High Court judge to formally consider a damning report which found that Deloitte auditors committed misconduct when they signed off British software firm Autonomy's annual accounts. If successful, HPE's move would allow Mr Justice Hildyard to take into account the Financial Reporting Council' …

1. a pressbutton

report demolishes Lynch's defence ... not sure.

(I am not a lawyer)

I get my car MOTd. Something bad happens and it also turns out that with the benefit of a lot of hindsight that the car should never have passed the MOT.

I do not see that as my fault, it is the garage's and I have every right to depend on that statement.

Unless HPE can prove that Autonomy actively told an untruth to Deloitte, and that untruth caused Deloitte to sign off the accts, dont see how this makes much difference.

If they can prove that, they can show Autonomy have a case to answer without needing this report.

Strikes me as the 'look at all these documents, something in there means he is the bad guy' approach to prosecution.

Perhaps there is a commentard who actually has more than just an opinion out there who can correct me.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: report demolishes Lynch's defence ... not sure.

The annoying thing about an MOT inspection, is that passing it doesn't mean your car is considered legally safe to drive on the road. It's a requirement to have an MOT certificate to be able to drive it on public roads, but if you look at the small print it offers no guarantee that the car is road legal, no recourse for legal action against the inspector if subsequently found to be unsafe, and you are still solely liable for the car being legally "safe to drive".

1. RegGuy1 Silver badge

ok, so what's the point of Deloitte then?

2. a pressbutton