back to article Server won't boot? Forgot to make that backup? Have no fear, just blame Microsoft

The perils of dusty old kit, a cashing-in of brownie points and if in doubt, blame Microsoft! Start the week with another Register reader Who, Me? confession. "George" (for that is not his name) was that most common of breeds in the tech world – a self-taught IT guy responsible for a small network of users at a local firm. …

1. chivo243 Silver badge
    Facepalm

Out of the Frying pan, into the Fire?

Went out and bought Backup Exec? Especially from that time... We used it, and moved on.

1. Gotno iShit Wantno iShit

Re: Out of the Frying pan, into the Fire?

I was about to post a counter but then remembered the version I used for years ran (flawlessly) on NT server 4.0. Jeez, how'd I get so old?

1. big_D Silver badge

We had Backup Exec running on NetWare 3.1, writing to a Sony tape system.

2. Franco

To be fair Backup Exec was almost an industry standard product, right up until the 2012 version that was quite possibly the worst bit of software I have ever used.

2. don't you hate it when you lose your account

Learnt my lesson early on

6 hours of hammering away, the birds were starting to twitter and I took a loo break. Came back to 3 horrified friends sitting round a blank sceen, one had accidentally killed the power. After they left I reloaded Elite from cassette and saved at every bloody space station. Some lessons stay with you.

3. TonyJ

A hard lesson...

...that everyone has learned at some point: Ageing hardware that hasn't been power-cycled for yonks tends to give up and die when it finally gets turned off and back on.

1. This post has been deleted by its author

1. TonyJ

Re: A hard lesson...

No I am talking about hardware.

1. don't you hate it when you lose your account

Yip. Had it happen on an old Linux workhorse I inherited at one place. Blew one of the mirrored drives and was eternally thankful I managed to bring the other to life.