back to article The three or so people who run Windows 10 on Arm might be glad to know that x64 emulation is in preview

Microsoft has finally released a preview of 64-bit Intel emulation for Windows 10 on Arm in its latest Dev Channel Insider build. It has been a while coming, and did not make it in November as previously promised. It is, however, at last here for Dev Channel Windows Insiders running on Arm hardware. Microsoft would dearly …

1. alain williams Silver badge

Better to port ?

Would it not be better to put effort into making it easier to port programs between x64 and ARM and set up multiple repositories for different architectures ?

I have been porting *nix programs between CPU types for over 35 years, it takes a bit of care but is not really hard.

1. Sandtitz Silver badge

Re: Better to port ?

"Would it not be better to put effort into making it easier to port programs between x64 and ARM and set up multiple repositories for different architectures ?"

Of course it would.

Chicken and egg - because these Windows-on-ARM computers/users are a tiny niche the software companies can't be arsed; on the other end the freeware coders can't afford one of those units to test their software just for a handful of users.

1. needmorehare
        Devil

Most software won’t be ported

Like video games and niche industrial automation software. Here’s the big rub, if Windows 10 ARM does not end up maintaining full backwards compatibility, then it won’t have a lot of uptake from IT professionals, meaning businesses won’t use it.

Think of it this way. If you knew for sure that x86 was on the way out and that Microsoft was not going to guarantee your old software to work, wouldn’t you take advantage of the opportunity to reassess your choices?