back to article Python swallows Java to become second-most popular programming language... according to this index

Python has surpassed Java to become the second-most popular programming language in the TIOBE index, one of several imprecise yardsticks used to rank what's in vogue among coders. "For the first time since the start of the TIOBE index nearly 20 years ago, Java and C don't make up the top 2 positions any more," said Paul Jansen …

1. sorry, what?
    FAIL

Sin tax

As a professional developer I cringe when helping my kids do their programming using this language. To me it's a poor man's lobotomized JavaScript taking a leaf out of the FORTRAN book of stupidity. I really don't understand why educational institutions have adopted it. Can someone explain the appeal?

1. Blackjack Silver badge

Re: Sin tax

Eh, is more or less the BASIC of the 21st century.

Nowadays BASIC is looked back fondly, but go back in time several decades and the language had many detractors.

Just like you cannot start teaching math using Isaac Newton's Mathematical Principles of Natural Philosophy, you can't start kids with programing using C.

1. Tim99 Silver badge
        Coat

"you can't start kids with programing using C." Why not? K&R is ~250 pages long - A couple of bits from each section should do it. They need it to be "pretty"?

Guess what's in my pocket >>=========>

1. Mike 137 Silver badge

"Why not? K&R is ~250 pages long"

The most important attribute of C for elementary programming instruction is that it's very near the metal. The biggest source of bugs in today's bug ridden software is total reliance on the high level of abstraction imposed by most currently used languages.