back to article How the tables have turned: Bloke says he trained facial recognition algorithm to identify police officers

An activist in Portland, Oregon, claims to have trained a facial recognition model that is able to identify one-fifth of the police working in the US city. Christopher Howell, described as a "self-taught coder", told The New York Times that his model isn't publicly available, and that he'd used it to help a friend identify a …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Joke

AI face recognition of cops

> Unsurprisingly, the most difficult part of the project is collecting enough images to amass a database large enough to accurately match photographs.

But now he's told the cops, they'll be a steady supply of new images from the drivers of cars that mysteriously slow down going past his house, and tail him as he drives to and from work, the mall etc.

1. chivo243 Silver badge

Re: AI face recognition of cops

I was thinking now the word is out, especially in Portland, that he would be inundated with cop photos for his database. Is Snake Plissken now living in Portland?

1. markr555

"Is Snake Plissken now living in Portland?" - I heard he was dead...

1. chivo243 Silver badge

Kurt Russell is still alive... Now the character? could be...

2. Anonymous Coward
          Black Helicopters

IIRC everyone who shared that belief ended up dead.

2. Wellyboot Silver badge

This'll make undercover work interesting if police graduation photos get added to the system, then of course there's all those federal agencies.

Local 'businesses' may well be making Mr Howell a very compelling offer...

Bottle > ...Genie

1. Yet Another Anonymous coward Silver badge

>This'll make undercover work interesting if police graduation photos get added to the system

How is undercover work even possible these days?

So you're Mr J Smith and you want to join my drug running gang ?