back to article Linux kernel's Kroah-Hartman: We're not struggling to get new coders, it's code review that's the bottleneck

Speaking in an "Ask the Experts" session at the online Open Source Summit Europe conference today, Linux kernel's stable branch maintainer Greg Kroah-Hartman said there are plenty of new contributors to the code though the bottleneck is finding the people to review it. Perhaps in response to comments reported here from Linux …

1. Chewi
    Thumb Up

He's right

I can totally echo that. As a Gentoo developer, I get new pull requests on GitHub almost daily. I can barely find enough time to make my own changes these days, never mind review other people's. I do try though. I just wish they'd go that extra few miles and actually become bona fide Gentoo developers, then they can take responsibility for their own changes instead of getting stuck behind the bottleneck that is me.

2. Claverhouse Silver badge
    Holmes

Retards...

Although not totalitarian, I wouldn't mind private companies like Intel having to give over 5% of their shares to the injured party every time they were stupidly irresponsible and/or malicious with putative consequences.

1. gobaskof

Re: Retards...

Perhaps even 5% of the value of their shares as of the date the rule was made? Because with such a law in place the value might go down rapidly, as the company bleeds away to others.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

5% would likely lead to a significant decline in share value resulting in companies breaching their banking covenants and defaulting on loans.

Cue end of company and lots of "we didn't think this through did we"...

Surely the injured parties should only be allowed to reclaim the value of the products they purchased upto a multiple of the purchase price.

1. teknopaul

maybe, it might also lead to companies not making the mistakes.

It might lead to a world where "too big to fail" stops getting used to justify sistemic failure.

3. Lorribot