back to article Sonos turns patent war with Google up a notch with fresh lawsuit timed to coincide with Pixel, Nest jamboree

Sonos has taken its patent infringement case against Google up a notch by filing a second lawsuit on Wednesday to coincide with the web titan's launch of more Nest, Chromecast and Pixel products that Sonos claims infringe its intellectual property. The music-streaming outfit alleges [PDF] Google is ripping off no fewer than …

1. IGotOut Silver badge

Oooo..

Which own owns the patent "Rendering functioning devices unusable by upgrading services"

Hope both lose.

2. Version 1.0 Silver badge

Sonos was the second company, not the first.

Has El Reg never heard of the Slimp3 and Squeezebox music systems? They work very well, I've been using them for 18 years now and my first unit (the original Slimp3) still works great and the Squeezebox Radios sound wonderful.

1. Tom 38

Re: Sonos was the second company, not the first.

But it doesn't synchronise music playing across multiple units so that they are all in time, which is what the journo claimed Sonos were first to (maybe the wording could have been clearer):

it was the first company to perfect music streaming across speakers

That has always been Sonos's selling point - just keep adding boxes and they all work together.

1. Captain Hogwash

Re: it doesn't synchronise music playing across multiple units so that they are all in time

This is not true. I use the open sourced server and player software on Raspberry Pis and you can definitely group players for synchronisation.Sonos might have been the first it's been around for a long time in Squeezebox setups.

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

Re: it doesn't synchronise music playing across multiple units so that they are all in time