back to article Windows to become emulation layer atop Linux kernel, predicts Eric Raymond

Open-source software advocate Eric S Raymond has penned an argument that the triumph of Linux on the desktop is imminent because Microsoft will soon tire of Windows. Raymond's argument, posted to his blog late last week, kicked off with some frank admiration for Windows Subsystem For Linux, the tech that lets Linux binaries …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Edge using chromium

I’m not a programmer, but didn’t porting edge to chromium then make it far easier to port to Linux, Mac etc.

I wouldn’t look at porting an open source implementation to linux the sand as porting the whole of the os.

1. matjaggard

Re: Edge using chromium

Yes but that's just why it makes sense to choose it as a small trial project

1. alcalde

It's not a trial of anything. Earlier, Microsoft asked Linux programmers if they were interested in Edge. Only after getting a large positive response did they then announce that they would port it to Linux. The reality is that according to Stack Overflow surveys, development on Windows has fallen to below 50% for a few years now. Hence, not having Edge on Linux would lose Microsoft more mindshare with developers (a reason they bought Github). Edge on Linux helps ensure that web apps are tested to run correctly in Edge. That's it. Raymond's assertion that the only reasonable explanation is that they intend to run all of Windows on top of Linux is absurd. Heck, the success and continued improvements to WSL show that if they intend anything it's to run all of Linux within Windows.

1. oldcoder

It still has all of the Windows insecurity and failures, and almost none of the Linux performance or security.

2. popasu

I was not aware of those Stack Overflow survey, finding that "development on Windows has fallen to below 50% for a few years now".

Do you have a link to any of them?

Thanks!

2. binary
      FAIL