back to article Oh dear, what a pity! It seems you can't join the directors at the Zoom meeting today

Zoom says it's fingered "the issue" preventing users from authenticating to the Zoom website, or starting and joining Zoom meetings and webinars, so if you thought you'd miss the 4pm "quick catch-up" with sales, your hopes are getting slimmer. The BlueJeans, Jabber and Webex rival said ominously at 13:50 UTC (14:50 UK time) …

1. WolfFan Silver badge

I do adjunct work at a local community college. I have received a series of emails from school support about this. There’s supposed to be an all hands meeting at 16:00 local, about five hours away at time of posting. I live in hope that the meeting will be delayed/canceled/otherwise ignorable.

1. keithpeter Silver badge
      Windows

I've been ignoring meetings for the last 10 years or so of a 30 year career in teaching. Has worked ok so far. I started when we stopped talking about the progress of individual students and started talking about 'indicators' and 'strategic alignment'.

Warning: cultures vary in education. Take local advice.

2. chivo243 Silver badge
    Coat

Interwebs just like California

Rolling "internet service" blackouts?

3. MattPi

The deluge

For large numbers of US grade school kids, today is first day back to school. Large numbers of school districts are doing remote-only, and the outage lines up with I believe 8:51AM US EDT. I think I can connect the dots on that one.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Facepalm

Re: The deluge

I think you nailed it. American schools, from first to twelfth grade are generally split into three groups in a city or county (usually elementary, middle, and high schools) and one of those groups always starts at 9:00 local time.with the other two starting at 8:00 and 8:30 (they're staggered because they share school busses).