back to article You weren't hacked because you lacked space-age network defenses. Nor because cyber-gurus picked on you. It's far simpler than that

The continued inability of organizations to patch security vulnerabilities in a timely manner, combined with guessable passwords and the spread of automated hacking tools, is making it pretty easy for miscreants, professionals, and thrill-seekers to break into corporate networks. This is according to the penetration-testing …

1. jake Silver badge

It can hardly be called hacking ...

... if the system has a huge sign on it that says "C'mon in!", now can it ... And especially not when there's a key under the welcome mat, the back doors are unlocked, and all the Windows are wide open.

1. Mike 137 Silver badge

Re: It can hardly be called hacking ...

This has been the norm for decades now. As a consultant I have rarely found any serious attempts at continuous management of security. "Policies" are written but not verified for efficacy or followed, and ISO 27001 certification is often obtained on the basis of an ISMS that exists only on paper or as electrons somewhere. Most corporate cyber security consists of a mission statement and pure luck so far.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Facepalm

And the report didn't even include the fourth P -phishing.

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Don't turn your hand to government then, for there are only committees and publicity, Metrics, measurements, tests, verifications, reviews, improvements, are either scams or didn't happen. Authorisations are concealed, and only claims and counter-claims are allowed to fight it out in the commercial media.

No wonder Gov+IT<=0

2. Pete 2 Silver badge

Too hard, too frequent, too unreliable

> About 60 per cent of the web application holes used were deemed critical

It seems to me that the basic problem is that systems are not designed with upgrades and patches in mind. You can play the IT support conversation in your head.