back to article You've accused Apple of patent infringement. You want to probe the iOS source in a closed-room environment. What to do in a pandemic?

A judge has approved the use of so-called remote review laptops in a patent battle between Apple and Japanese tech manufacturer Maxell so lawyers can continue their case during the coronavirus pandemic. In the order this week, the US federal district judge noted the courts may require "unconventional practices and …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Software patents

Just say "NO!".

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Wow!

There really are people who think these are a good idea.

2. Steve Todd

A quick scan and they look like BS to me

I’m not a patent lawyer, but things like producing a ringing sound on an incoming call/message doesn’t strike me as new or innovative.

Many of the patent are also old and either expired or due to expire shortly.

Not the US patents system’s finest moment I think.

1. lglethal Silver badge
      Go

Re: A quick scan and they look like BS to me

Has the US Patent System had a fine moment in the last 50 years? Has it had a good moment? Actually i'll accept an OK moment. Has it had one of those?

hmmmm...

3. Michael Hoffmann Silver badge
    Unhappy

... of the eastern district of Texas ...

... oh, that sort of patent lawsuit. Their reputation precedes them. Patent trolls paradise.

4. Empire of the Pussycat

Ceiling cat will still be watching

some words

5. Dave 126 Silver badge

> [Maxell must give] Apple at least an hour's notice before they start up the machine, so they [can] access the computer for that session... "At all times, all network and USB ports and wireless transmitters of each Remote Review Laptop shall be and remain disabled..." the rules state.

Eh? How does Apple access the remote laptop if all network and wireless gubbins are disabled?