back to article Great news. Patch load drops 20% for the first time in 10 years. Bad news: Well, you've heard about coronavirus?

Over the first quarter of 2020, the number of security bugs disclosed by software makers fell 20 per cent though not for any of the right reasons, it seems. Analysts at Risk Based Security cited both internal data and public reports from vendors in putting the number of security vulnerabilities reported over the first three …

1. Mike 137 Silver badge

"... than any sudden improvements in the quality of code being written"

Any improvements in the quality of code being written will never be sudden - if they happen at all it will result from a complete redefinition of "software professional" making the requirement for formal expertise coincide with those of other more established engineering disciplines.

Software is the only engineering product that is accepted as created by entirely self-taught and unverified practitioners without recourse to ratified common standards. Not the case in civil engineering, not the case in electrical engineering - not even the case in plumbing or gas fitting. But as software gets ever more embedded in products otherwise engineered to more rigorous standards, these themselves get dragged down to its level. Witness several aviation incidents and near misses in the last few years.

1. Teiwaz

Re: "... than any sudden improvements in the quality of code being written"

Software is the only engineering product that is accepted as created by entirely self-taught and unverified practitioners without recourse to ratified common standards.

Well, the courses I did all carried BCS accreditation....