back to article Chicago: Why I just grin like a dork... It's my kind of Bork

Welcome to another entry in the digital signage corridor of despair, where cock-ups that would normally only trouble a user's screen are on public display for all to marvel at. Today's entry comes from Reg reader Anthony Remmers and concerns the displays atop Chicago's bus shelters. Things, it appears, do not seem to be going …

1. chivo243 Silver badge
    Happy

My Kinda Town!

When I was a student there, CTA = Chicago Transit Apathy. Lots of times the last run of the bus didn't run! (it used to be the Sheridan 151), forcing me to walk 15 Chicago blocks to catch an alternate bus to my hood!

1. Herbert Meyer

Re: My Kinda Town!

When I was going to College in Chicago, I had a job next to the CTA bus garage at Foster and Kedzie, on the North Side, in the River North neighborhood . After the Morning Rush Hour, many buses would go back to the garage to wait for the Afternoon Rush Hour, and would put up (it was a paper roll, not an electronic sign) Foster and Kedzie on the destination sign on the front of the bus. But they would not stop and pickup passengers on the trip in. I would wave and shout "I want to goto Foster and Kedzie". No luck.

1. chuckufarley Silver badge

Things have changed. Now they use LED signs on the buses and someone included a "Garage" selection in the route list.

1. chivo243 Silver badge

Garage South! On Montrose avenue??

2. chivo243 Silver badge
        Facepalm

College? CCC? Class of '90!

3. Anonymous Coward
        Headmaster

Foster/Kedzie is on the north size. It is not River North.

Trust me, I lived in River North for 20 years and then in West Loop neighborhood for 10 years before that.

Sorry but a bit of a Chicago neighborhood thing.

2. My other car WAS an IAV Stryker

LED matrices

"The display itself seems more or less OK; the CTA has opted to stick with the reassuring soft glow of an amber matrix rather than a migraine-inducing flatscreen."

AMEN!