back to article If it feels like the software world is held together by string and a prayer, we don't blame you: Facebook SDK snafu breaks top iOS apps

A change in the Facebook SDK backend managed to crash many popular iOS apps that integrated the code library, used for implementing various Facebook services. Around 1330 PDT on Wednesday, software developers were stumped when their applications mysteriously crashed after being launched by users. Among those affected were …

1. Tim99 Silver badge
    Facepalm

Oh dear

App makers can add the Facebook SDK to their apps to use Facebook's Login system as a single sign-on provider, to access its analytics service, to get social graph data associated with the app user, to implement deep linking to content within the app, and to utilize Facebook mobile ads

Surely, they could have earnt a more honest living? An update of old saw "I told my mother I play the piano in a brothel, I didn't want her to know that I'm a developer that used Facebook's Login" could apply.

1. martinusher Silver badge

Re: Oh dear

It appears that Facebook throws app developers a bone in order to get pretty much unrestricted access to the user's device. This probably explains why quite ordinary applications request a laundrty list of permissions when installing ("but it doesn't work with images, why would it need access to the camera, photos and what-have-you?").

Using a language that implements even rudimenatry type checking might save everyone a lot of time and bother. We also need to explain to some of these programmers what the term 'deprecate' means.

2. Irongut

> Developers tend not to fully understand third-party libraries and tend not to pay much attention to flawed code there until it's too late.